weekly photo challenge: surprise

Surprise. There was talk of some sort of apocalypse today, but so far, so good. Big surprise! In honor of the world continuing, show me some surprises! If you’re at a loss what to share, I bet many of you have surprises hidden under a tree or in a closet somewhere. My photo is about the first big snowfall which surprised us overnight here in Italy. I woke up to a world covered in white and these were my first steps into the snow.

I break my fast

Amidst the morning glory ~Basho*

greeting the dawn

greeting the dawn

Each morning my husband takes a walk through the city park while, in the sunroom, I read the morning news.  This morning while also listening to Dan Gibson’s “Forest Cello” (Pandora Radio) the vibrant reds in the eastern sky met my upward glance.

 

When my husband returned from his walk he described, “a very extended flock of black birds . . .flew over me going eastward . . . they kept going . . . and going.”

 

Being distracted by the colors of the morning horizon, I was blinded to the multiple black birds in flight.  Surprised and thankful that the camera was more present to this morning’s dawn.

 

The black bird that I always despise,

And yet, against the snowy dawn … ~ Basho*

 

 

*Jonathan Clements, “The Moon in the Pines”

4 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: surprise

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,059 other followers

