day without immigrants

I have chosen to remain home today, the 16th of February, to participate in the day without immigrants protest.  Why?

My family history includes incidents in which they encountered resentment, hate, and violence as they sought a new life on this American soil.

In the 19th century, my father’s paternal family heeded a call to “gather to Zion” and thus immigrated to the United States from Denmark as newly converts to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints  (LDS).  His maternal family left Ireland to settle in Virginia before relocating to the west coast in the 1860s.

My mother’s maternal and paternal families left England in the 18th century and settled in the northeast part of the United States.  Their relationships with Joseph Smith resulted in their relocation to Nauvoo, Illinois before seeking refuge in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Have you chosen to give voice to this issue?  I would enjoy hearing your thoughts about the events of today.

13 Replies to “day without immigrants”

    1. Thank you for sharing. I also am retired so not even going to the store for anything…not even milk…sends a message. Each small endeavor, united, sends a loud message.

    1. I am questioning if this is a distraction. To have a focus upon immigrants is a sure fire way of hiding the greed of the 1-2% who profit at every turn while cutting budgets that provide and support the everyday people.

    1. Annie thank you for sharing your blog. It brought to mind how my mother’s answers to my questions about family history would give me a sense of being rooted in the world. I hope you continue to be nourished in positive ways throughout your life.

Leave a Reply

